Poland - polski (Polska) United States

Joe Strummer 001

Joe Strummer

Wybierz rozmiar

Ten produkt jest obecnie niedostepny


I’d like to be the first to know when this is available again.

ID produktu: JSTR30
Category: Deluxe 64 Page Hardback Book with CD

Szczególy produktu Joe Strummer - Joe Strummer 001 - Deluxe 64 Page Hardback Book with CD

Ignition Records are proud to announce the release of ‘Joe Strummer 001,’ the first compilation to span Joe Strummer’s career outside of his recordings with The Clash.‘Joe Strummer 001’ features 32 tracks and includes favourites from his recordings with the 101ers, The Mescaleros, his solo albums, soundtrack work plus 12 previously unreleased songs.

All the formats include tracks that have never appeared anywhere before as well as new remasters. Exclusive to all formats is an album of unreleased material including an early demo of ‘This Is England' entitled ‘Czechoslovak Song/Where Is England,’a solo demo of ‘Letsagetabitarockin’ recorded in Elgin Avenue in 1975, outtakes from ‘Sid & Nancy’ featuring Mick Jones and unreleased songs ‘Rose Of Erin’, the biographical and mythical recording ‘The Cool Impossible’ and ‘London Is Burning’ one of the last songs Joe recorded.

Punk pioneer, singer, songwriter, recording artist, activist, musical and political inspiration for a generation and mighty diamond Joe Strummer was the most charismatic and passionate front man to emerge from the punk explosion of the late seventies. After Joe’s untimely death in December 2002 it was discovered that he had been quite an archivist of his own work, having barns full of writings and tapes stored in his back garden. There are now over 20,000 items in the Joe Strummer Archive.The archiving of this material and compiling of ‘Joe Strummer 001’ was overseen by Joe’s widow Lucinda Tait and compilation producer Robert Gordon McHarg III.

All tracks were restored and mastered by Grammy Award winner Peter J. Moore at the E. Room in Toronto Canada. On-going through cassettes and recording tapes it was discovered that Joe was rather frugal and keen on hiding tracks. On cassettes he would leave 20 minutes between songs. On the 1” 8 track recordings it was discovered there were hidden tracks superimposed onto each other. For example, tracks 1-4 were taken by one song and tracks 5-8 by two other songs which were thought when played back to be caused by tape denigration until the tapes went to Peter J Moore who was able to separate one song from another.
Art directed and designed by Robert Gordon McHarg III who previously worked on the Clash ‘Sound System’ box set with Paul Simonon, the John Cooper Clarke compilation ‘Anthologia’ and curated the Black-Market Clash Exhibition.
Gordon says, “The idea behind the 64-page A4 notebook is that it’s done as if Joe had designed it himself, telling his story, an insight into his workings including hand written lyrics with personal notes and scribbles.”

Limited edition Deluxe Double CD in 64-page hard backed A4 Note Book with writings, lyrics, photos and sketches taken from Joe’s extensive personal archive. The deluxe book features rarely seen and previously unpublished memorabilia from Joe’s personal collection as well as historical press reviews and technical notes about the albums. The slipcase cover of all formats is taken from Joe’s 1990 Californian driving license.

Order now and receive free downloads of 'London Is Burning', 'It's A Rockin' World', 'Rose of Erin' and 'Czechoslovak Song / Where is England' straight away.


1. Letsagetabitarockin' (2005 Remastered Version) - The 101ers - 00:02:08
2. Keys To Your Heart (Version 2) [2005 Remastered Version] - The 101ers- 00:03:08
3. Love Kills - Joe Strummer - 00:03:59
4. Tennessee Rain - Joe Strummer - 00:02:55
5. Trash City - Joe Strummer & The Latino Rockabilly War - 00:04:11
6. 15th Brigade - Joe Strummer - 00:02:40
7. Ride Your Donkey - Joe Strummer - 00:02:21
8. Burning Lights - Joe Strummer - 00:02:43
9. Afro-Cuban Be-Bop - The Astro-Physicians - 00:02:53
10. Sandpaper Blues - Radar - 00:04:44
11. Generations - Electric Dog House - 00:05:30
12. It’s A Rockin' World - Joe Strummer - 00:02:25
13. Yalla Yalla - Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros - 00:06:57
14. X-Ray Style - Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros - 00:04:34
15. Johnny Appleseed - Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros - 00:04:02
16. Minstrel Boy - Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros - 00:05:42
17. Redemption Song - Johnny Cash & Joe Strummer - 00:03:24
18. Over The Border - Jimmy Cliff & Joe Strummer - 00:03:51
19. Coma Girl - Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros - 00:03:48
20. Silver & Gold / Before I Grow Too Old - Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros - 00:02:39

1. Letsagetabitarockin' (Strummer Demo) - Joe Strummer - 00:01:49
2. Czechoslovak Song / Where Is England - Joe Strummer - 00:03:49
3. Pouring Rain (1984) - Strummer, Simonon & Howard - 00:03:29
4. Blues On The River - Joe Strummer - 00:04:37
5. Crying On 23rd - The Soothsayers - 00:02:52
6. 2 Bullets - Pearl Harbour - 00:03:11
7. When Pigs Fly - Joe Strummer - 00:04:06
8. Pouring Rain (1993) - Joe Strummer - 00:04:06
9. Rose Of Erin - Joe Strummer - 00:04:12
10. The Cool Impossible - Joe Strummer - 00:04:32
11. London Is Burning - Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros - 00:03:14
12. U.S. North - Joe Strummer & Mick Jones - 00:10:32

Related Products

Klienci którzy kupili ten przedmiot, kupili tez

You Recently Viewed